AGM – 13th October 2016 (Year Ending – 31 December 2015) - ICCCTO

  • Home
  • AGM – 13th October 2016 (Year Ending – 31 December 2015)

President’s Report

Dear Members,

I am pleased to report that the 12 month period ending 31 December 2015 continued the positive momentum for the ICCCTO. During this period we remained true to our mandate by focusing on providing a forum for our members to network and promote their business and professional interests while also supporting the development of enhanced trade links between Ireland and Canada.

Supporting Enhanced Trade Links

Starting with the latter we were extremely pleased to host:

  1. In Partnership with EI – Ireland’s Minister for Foreign Affairs – Charlie Flanagan (Irish Ambassador to Canada – Ray Bassett in attendance) – (Hot House – St Patrick’s Day Breakfast)
  2. Bank of Ireland at a Business Breakfast – Derek Collins – Senior Director & Head of Global Foreign Direct Investment (National Club – Moderated by BNN’s Andrew Bell).

Continue to Focus on Our Local Presence

While helping foster enhanced trade links is very important we also place a huge importance on our presence locally here in Toronto.

  1. September 30th 2015 – Second Annual Presidents Dinner at One King West. Headlined by Cathal J. O’Connor, EVP & CFO of Cadillac Fairview Ltd., The evening was a great success and we hope this event can become a fixture on the Chamber calendar for many years to come.
  2. Other Events – Staples – Golf Day, the Quiz and the Christmas Party which were all great successes.

Sponsorship & Support

On the sponsorship front we were delighted to add Bank of Ireland as a corporate sponsor. Thankfully Scotiabank and KPMG remain our pillars. We also thank the various companies the kindly sponsor our various events throughout the year.

First Full Year of Executive Director

We were also delighted to add a new Executive Director, Cathy Murphy who has been instrumental in the day to day management of the Chamber. Continued improvement in our membership database, communication system and website. While still more work to go on this front we are very pleased with the progress to date.

Board Update

There were a large number of resignations at the end of 2015 – Cormac Monaghan, Michael Monaghan, Damian Dupuy, Alannah McMahon, Ross O’Colmain and Eithne Heffernan. We thank them all sincerely for their major contributions to the Chamber and the Irish community in general. We are delighted that Cormac and Eithne have remained connected in an ambassadorial capacity as Honorary Directors. Pleased to have John Galway, Louise Scott, Treasa O’Loughlin and Neil Cooney (EI) join in the current year complementing our existing experience in Rob McDonnell (Vice President), Kyle McNamara and Carolyn Dunne. We also welcomed Dr. John O’Dwyer back to the front lines as Treasurer.

I would like to thank our Board of Directors for their unflinching support. Finally to our members, thank you for being part of the Chamber. You are the reason the Chamber continues to be so successful. 2015 was a great year for the Chamber and as we get ready to embrace the year ahead we do so with optimism and enthusiasm, confident in the knowledge that the Chamber continues to play a very important role in the Irish community here in Toronto.

Until Next Year!

Matthew Cotter

President, ICCCTO

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial